Mission First Housing Group

shannon and russell

Meet Our New Board Members

by Mission First Housing

Mission First is happy to announce that Shannon Scott and Russell Johnson have joined its board.

Shannon Scott
Shannon Scott is the Chief Financial Officer for Greater Washington Community Foundation. She has spent the majority of her career in the non-profit arena and has more than 25 years of experience in public accounting, financial services and social services.

Ms. Scott has an acute skill for process improvement, and since joining Greater Washington Community Foundation has made process enhancements for grant and timesheet reporting, expense reporting, financial reporting and annual audits, and technology. She is responsible for managing the accounting, investments, financial planning and reporting, tax, budget and treasury functions. In addition, she oversees Human Resources and Information Technology.

Prior to joining the Greater Washington Community Foundation, she served as the Chief Financial Officer at National Housing Trust and the Council on Foundations, providing financial planning and reporting, grants management and enterprise risk management information to the leadership team and the board of directors. She was also the controller for Capital Impact Partners (formerly NCB Capital Impact), managing the finance and accounting team and overseeing financial reporting and audits, compliance reporting for new markets tax credits transactions, budgeting, investment management and grants management. Ms. Scott also chaired the Diversity Committee, bringing a culture of shared history and understanding to the work. Prior to that, she served as the Chief Financial Officer at So Others Might Eat, a social services agency providing much needed resources to Washington, DC’s homeless population.

Ms. Scott also served six years as treasurer and volunteer photographer for Miriam’s Kitchen, a Washington DC nonprofit serving the area’s homeless population.

Russell Johnson
Russell Johnson is the President, CEO of HealthSpark Foundation. He has more than 25 years of health and human services experience. He has held leadership positions in both public and private sector health and human services agencies working in the fields of child welfare, aging and behavioral health.

Mr. Johnson is co-chair of the Pennsylvania Health Funders’ Collaborative, a statewide membership group of health philanthropies; and member of the Your Way Home Advisory Council. He is an advisor to the North Penn United Way’s Community Investment Team; serves as a founding member of the Pennsylvania Coalition on Oral Health; and serves as an Advisory Committee member of the Gwynedd Mercy University Frances M. Maguire School of Nursing and Health Professions. Previously he served on the board of Philanthropy Network Greater Philadelphia, the region’s membership association for grantmakers; and as board chair of Northern Home for Children.

Over the past decade much of his work has focused on systems transformation, capacity building and quality improvement activities including the visioning and development of Your Way Home Montgomery County, a public/private housing/homelessness initiative; and a county-wide food security/nutrition improvement initiative. He curated his vision for the co-location of four community nonprofits resulting in the construction of a $28 million nonprofit center that opened in October 2016 providing 60 units of affordable housing for seniors and people with behavioral health disabilities, a soup kitchen/choice pantry and job-readiness training program, a senior center and an expanded YMCA. Currently he is facilitating partnering opportunities among the county’s nonprofit hospitals and the health department; leading and facilitating a community-wide stakeholder group to prepare for the implementation of Community Health Choices; and supporting an application to CMS for a Track 3 Accountable Health Community grant.

Shannon and Russell join Harry G. “Skip” Dittmann, Gina C. Muldrow, Mark Duffy, Michael Davidson, Esq., Jim Kilcoyne and Joel S. Lawson III to complete the board roster.

Posted Under: Press Releases, Uncategorized